INSTITUTIONAL POLICY AND PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES November 6, 2009

PRESENT: President Philip Glotzbach, Chair; Professor Adrienne Zuerner, Vice Chair; Mary Lou Bates, Rochelle Calhoun, Michael Casey, Winston Grady-Willis, Ann Henderson, Susan Kress, Kim Marsella, Erica Bastress-Dukehart, Muriel Poston, Jeff Segrave, Michael West, Mary Cogan, Tim Harper, Raina Bretan, James Welsh, Hugh Foley, Anne Petruzzelli, and Barbara Krause (Secretary).

ABSENT: Justin Sipher.

GUEST: Sarah Goodwin.

1. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>

Minutes of the October 16, 2009 meeting were approved with one minor correction.

2.

Regarding the previously discussed language of "intellectual humility," Professor Bastress-Dukehart noted that several faculty members hold the strong belief that "humility" does not capture accurately what they hope their students will achieve. Accordingly, CEPP requested that the Assessment Steering Group include additional concepts (integrity and courage) to better express the transformation that many faculty members feel is important.

Following this discussion, President Glotzbach asked whether IPPC wished to endorse the revised document. IPPC members voted unanimously to endorse the revised Goals for Student Learning and Development.

Professor Bastress-Dukehart noted that Professor Goodwin deserves enormous credit for advancing the assessment work to this point. President Glotzbach also noted that this is an important moment as we articulate what it is that we want Skidmore students to learn and develop during their time at the College.

Professor Goodwin, in turn, asked that the following be conveyed:

Shepherding the Goals through our many discussions, both in public and on our committees, has been a real challenge, and Professor Bastress-Dukehart deserves all of our thanks for keeping the consensus together and addressing everyone's questions and concerns. Because of her hard work, these Goals really do emerge from an inclusive, thoughtful process.

Also, I'm grateful that IPPC was able to take the time to endorse the Goals and was also flexible enough to accept the changes. It's important for us to have that broad institutional endorsement as well as the faculty endorsement, especially given the scope of these Goals.

7. SGA Organizational Structure

SGA President Raina Bretan distributed an organizational chart describing the structure of the "Student Government Association." She noted that the SGA actually includes all students, while the SGA Senate (currently 25 members) is the SGA's primary legislative body and the SGA Executive Committee (currently 8 members) is responsible for administration of the SGA.

It was suggested that it would be helpful to add names and perhaps pictures to the organizational chart and to distribute the document more broadly to all-College committees. It was noted that the faculty is considering reducing its representation on various governance committees; given that student membership on some committees is not fully subscribed, is SGA looking a streamlining student representation on College governance committees? Ms. Bretan stated that although SGA has a good willingness-to-serve process, it does not always generate enough interest to fill all student vacancies. SGA Senate is working to better publicize the committee service options and the nature of the work. Ms. Bretan reported that student committee members who do engage in this work have a real sense of involvement in the community.

Finally, Ms. Bretan noted that voting on the Pavilion Corporation question continues. Recent efforts to encourage student voting have been effective, and she is optimistic that the matter can be resolved in the near future.

7. Town Hall Meeting Update

Barbara Krause reported on current planning for the campus Town Hall Meetings which will take place during the second and third weeks in November. As reported previously to IPPC, Cabinet members will serve as moderators, and members of the faculty and staff will serve as facilitators at small table discussions. Students have been invited to participate in these meetings; student registration at this point, however, has been slow, and Ms. Bretan will send out an e-mail reminding students of the sign-up deadline. Ms. Bretan and Dean Calhoun also are planning at least one additional Town Hall Meeting specifically for students.

8. Special Programs Update

Dean of Special Programs Jeff Segrave reported that the Office of Special Programs restructuring has been implemented. The new structure and list of individuals in new positions has been distributed to the campus. He expressed his appreciation to the staff members in Special Programs for their strong work during this difficult time. Dean Segrave also expressed his optimism and excitement about the new structure, which he believes will allow Special Programs to flourish in new ways.

Minutes prepared by Barbara Krause. Please notify of any changes.